Astra Koltec Filters

Paul@Kippen

Astra Koltec Filters

#1 Post by Paul@Kippen » Fri Oct 23, 2020 10:52 am

Guys,

I'm fairly new to the world of LPG and have just got associated with an Astra estate fitted with the Koltec system. I have found the gas phase filter down the back of the manifold but am struggling to find the liquid phase filter. When my pal bought the car, the system had a connection at the bulkhead disconnected and the car would not swap to gas. We plugged this back in and although it now changes to and runs on gas, it is a bit down on power. There is a hissing sound from the vapourizer which leads me to think that the liquid phase filter is choked.

Paul @ Kippen.

LPGC
Installer

Re: Astra Koltec Filters

#2 Post by LPGC » Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:46 pm

On a lot of Koltec systems the liquid phase filter is very close to the reducer but difficult to access being both below the reducer and between the reducer/bracket and firewall.

If it's down on power and making a hissing noise I suspect the problem is more than just a clogged liquid phase filter. A clogged liquid phase filter would usually see the car able to idle and drive at low loads OK on LPG but switch back to petrol (as though you'd run out of gas) when you put your foot down. I've changed hundreds of liquid phase filters on various vehicles but have only ever seen a couple of really clogged filters to the extent they'd limit power at the top end. Having said that, one of the few clogged filters I've seen was on a Koltec system.

Down on power and your belief that the filter may be to blame hints at either a misfire or lean mixture, usually they won't run on gas for long with either of those conditions.
Full time LPG installer
Servicing / Diagnostics / Repairs to all systems / DIY conversion kits supplied with thorough tech support
Mid Yorkshire
2 miles A1, 8 miles M62,
http://www.Lpgc.co.uk
Twitter https://twitter.com/AutogasSimon

Paul@Kippen

#3 Post by Paul@Kippen » Fri Oct 23, 2020 4:47 pm