Advice please

tfsw00

Advice please

#1 Post by tfsw00 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:46 pm

Hi All,
I am considering fitting an lpg system to my 2006 avensis 1.8 vvt, can anyone suggest a reasonably priced kit and also how to get a certificate for dvla.
I believe with a little help that I should be able to undertake the fitting myself as I have been restoring vehicles for over 30 years and consider myself competent, but I don't know it all and welcome any help offered.
thank you all for your time and suggestions.
Stuart

Brian_H
Intermediate Member

Re: Advice please

#2 Post by Brian_H » Sat Apr 20, 2019 8:51 pm

To get any sort of certificate you'd need it inspected by an installer willing to offer a certificate. Simon (LPGC on this forum) may be able to help you with both the kit you need and the certification after its fitted, find one of his posts and its got details in his signature of his contact details and website. Note that the certificate required by DVLA is slightly different to what your insurer might need, so it will help to understand that (there is a separate scheme which some insurers like which registers your vehicle on www.drivelpg.co.uk but its got no legal standing whatsoever, So it can be worth checking with your insurance company as to what they require - Your best to ask what they require you to get from your installer, rather than saying your going to install the kit yourself though - overall result is the same, but most insurance company call centre staff won't have much of a clue and will run a mile as soon as you mention installing it yourself).

The VVT engines generally take a more precise method of calibration to get good results from whats said on here, Simon would be a good bet for doing this as well.